Welcome to Cumberland County!
Skip Navigation :: Site Map
  • Welcome to the Cumberland County Website
  • Welcome to the Cumberland County Website

About the Board

Find District and Term Information

The County of Cumberland operates under a Board of Commissioners - County Manager form of government. The Board of Commissioners consists of seven members, two elected from District One, which largely follows the 42nd and 43rd House district lines and encompasses a small part of House district 44; three members elected from District Two, which follows the 22nd, 44th and 45th House district lines; and two members elected at-large.

Each member is elected to a four-year term. The terms are staggered, and the members elect their own Chairman and Vice Chairman annually.

The Board of Commissioners meets two times each month, the first Monday of the month at 9 AM and the third Monday of the month at 6:45 PM. The meetings are held in the County Commissioners' meeting room (Room 118), on the first floor of the County Courthouse located at 117 Dick Street, Fayetteville, North Carolina. The meetings are open to the public. In addition, the meetings are broadcast live over Time Warner Cable Channel 5, Fayetteville/Cumberland Education TV. The meetings are rebroadcast the following Tuesday at 7:30 p.m.

An agenda for the meetings is available for viewing on the Agenda and Minutes page of this site on Friday prior to each meeting. To inquire as to the procedure for placing an item on the agenda, call the office of the County Manager at 678-7723.

Copyright © 2012
Cumberland County, NC.
All Rights Reserved.
County Courthouse
117 Dick Street
Fayetteville, NC 28301