About the Board

Advisory Board Application :: Meet the Commissioners
Mission Statment :: Vision Statement :: Visit with NACLC

Find District and Term Information Below

The County of Cumberland operates under a Board of Commissioners - County Manager form of government. The Board of Commissioners consists of seven members, two elected from District One which largely follows the 17th House district line; three members elected from District Two which follows the 18th House district line; and two members elected at-large.

Each member is elected to a four-year term. The terms are staggered, and the members elect their own Chairman and Vice Chairman annually.

The Board of Commissioners meets two times each month, the first Monday of the month at 9 AM and the third Monday of the month at 6:45 PM. The meetings are held in the County Commissioners' meeting room (Room 118), on the first floor of the County Courthouse located at 117 Dick Street, Fayetteville, North Carolina. The meetings are open to the public. In addition, the meetings are broadcast live over Time Warner Cable, Channel 7.

An agenda for the meetings is available for viewing on the Agenda/Minutes page of this site on Friday prior to each meeting. To inquire as to the procedure for placing an item on the agenda, call the office of the County Manager at 678-7723.

Commissioner District Term Expiration
Talmage S. (Tal) Baggett, Jr.At-Large December 2006
J. Breeden BlackwellAt-Large December 2006
Dr. Jeannette M. CouncilDistrict 1 December 2006
Kenneth S. Edge (Vice-Chairman)District 2 December 2008
Dr. John T. Henley, Jr.District 2 December 2008
Billy R. King (Chairman)District 1 December 2006
Diane WheatleyDistrict 2 December 2008

Return to top of page

[Home] [Commissioners' Office] [Manager's Office] [Financial] [Employment] [Departments] [County Statistics] [Public Information] [Agenda / Minutes] [Comment Form] [Organization Chart] [Links]