News Release Full Story

Congressional 9th District Primary Election May 14

Apr 09, 2019

The State Board of Elections unanimously voted to hold a new election in the 9th Congressional District, which includes part of Cumberland County. The primary election will be held May 14. Only registered Republican and unaffiliated voters can vote in the primary election.


Absentee voting has already started and ends May 6. One-Stop early voting begins April 24 – May 10, Monday – Friday 8am- 5pm, at the Board of Elections Office only.  Registration closes on April 22.


A second primary will be held Sept. 10, if necessary, followed by the general election on Nov. 5. If a second primary is not necessary, the general election for the 9th Congressional District will be Sept. 10.


The 9th Congressional District covers most of eastern and southern Cumberland County. View the Congressional District Map.


The State Board of Elections voted unanimously to order a new election in the 9th Congressional District after determining that irregularities occurred to such an extent that they tainted the results of the election and cast doubt on its fairness.


The Cumberland County Board of Election is located in the E. Newton Smith Center, 227 Fountainhead Lane, Fayetteville. The office is open Monday through Friday, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Call 910-678-7733 or go to for more information.