Planning & Inspections -
Staff & Contact Information


Old Courthouse
130 Gillespie Street, 1st & 2nd Floors, Fayetteville, NC 28301
Phone: 910-678-7600 · Fax: 910-678-7631
Director: Nancy Roy, AICP

Welcome to the Cumberland County Planning and Inspection Department's web page. We have made every effort to provide you with information that will help guide you in determining how to seek out assistance in matters that affect your property as well as the services our agency provides.

Cumberland County and the eight municipalities have made great strides in their land use planning. Numerous plans, policies and ordinances have been developed through cooperative efforts that serve this entire community and all of our citizens.

The Inspection Department is now combined with Planning in an effort to be more responsive to the needs of our citizens and to promote a more efficient program for permitting and code enforcement. We are continuing to seek more productive ways to meet the needs of our citizens through cross-training and "one-stop" permitting.

Planning is a living, changing and continuous process which requires that we recognize the connections between development and quality of life. Our staff consists of professional planners who are well qualified and have received national recognition for their contributions in their respective fields. We are all committed to the process of working together to ensure that the best living environment can be provided for all.

If I, or any member of my staff, can assist you in your development plans, please feel free to contact us.

Excerpts from 2010 Land Use Plan

Departments

Administration :: Central Permitting :: Code Enforcement :: Comprehensive Planning :: GIS :: Graphic Services :: Inspections :: Land Use Codes :: Transportation Planning :: Street Addressing (E-911) and Naming

Administration

  • Prepares budget, quarterly and monthly reports, minutes, agendas, and notifies the public of all zoning matters for Planning Board, Board of Adjustment, County Commissioners, and participating municipality meetings.

  • Manages administrative issues, personnel management, recordkeeping, purchasing, and other administrative and clerical responsibilities.

  • Provides administrative support for the Governmental Association.
Staff Phone # E-mail
Vacant, Director 678-7606
Tom Lloyd, Interim Director 678-7618 tlloyd@co.cumberland.nc.us
Annette Nunnery 678-7617 anunnery@co.cumberland.nc.us
B.J. Cashwell 678-7610 bjcashwell@co.cumberland.nc.us
top

Central Permitting

  • Provide central location to submit applications and plans for construction permits, related environmental health permits and fire permits.

  • Maintain and provide information regarding inspections, permits, procedures and processes

Staff Phone # E-mail
Deborah Simpson, Central Permitting Administrator 321-6644 dsimpson@co.cumberland.nc.us
Delores Cogdell, Senior Permitting Tech. 321-6645 dcogdell@co.cumberland.nc.us
Terri Ortiz, Permitting Tech. 321-6664 tortiz@co.cumberland.nc.us
top

Code Enforcement

  • Enforce and investigate zoning, minimum housing and junked vehicle complaints.

  • Issue Zoning Permits and ensure compliance with zoning regulations.

Staff Phone # E-mail
Ken Sykes, Code Enforcement Coordinator 321-6654 ksykes@co.cumberland.nc.us
Charisse Brown, Administrative Support I 321-6643 cbrown@co.cumberland.nc.us
Ronnie Mosely, Code Enforcement Officer III 321-6670 rmosely@co.cumberland.nc.us
Angela Perrier, Code Enforcement Officer II 321-6650 aperrier@co.cumberland.nc.us
George Hatcher, Code Enforcement Officer II 321-6647 ghatcher@co.cumberland.nc.us
Kim Reeves, Code Enforcement Officer II 321-6655 kimreeves@co.cumberland.nc.us
top

Comprehensive Planning

  • Prepares and maintains the long-range Comprehensive Plan.

  • Performs technical research for area studies and other planning studies for the County and its participating municipalities.

Staff Phone # E-mail
Will Denning, Planner III 678-7612 wdenning@co.cumberland.nc.us
Hope Barnhart, Planner II 678-7607 hbarnhart@co.cumberland.nc.us
Denise Sykes, Planner I (GIS) 678-7629 dsykes@co.cumberland.nc.us
Monita McLaurin, Planner I 678-7611 mmclaurin@co.cumberland.nc.us
top

GIS

  • Conducts technical planning research and produces special studies for the Planning Board

  • Provides census information to the general public as requested.

  • Provides technical planning assistance to the municipalities.
Staff Phone # E-mail
Matt Rooney, GIS Manager 678-7625 mrooney@co.cumberland.nc.us
Autrice Taylor, GIS Analyst 678-7552 ataylor@co.cumberland.nc.us
Lee Eanes, GIS Coordinator 678-7550 leanes@co.cumberland.nc.us
top

Graphic Services

  • Produces and maintains all zoning maps for the County.

  • Provides the graphic media for the Planning Board and other governing body meetings, as well as field research and notification to the public of all public hearings.
Staff Phone # E-mail
Donna McFayden, Plat Review Officer 678-7621 dmcfayden@co.cumberland.nc.us
Annie Faircloth, GIS Tech II 323-6102 afaircloth@co.cumberland.nc.us
Shane Parsons, GIS Tech I 678-7765 sparsons@co.cumberland.nc.us
top

Inspections

  • Review applications and construction plans for new constructions, renovations or additions.

  • Performs inspections to ensure work is performed in accordance with the NC State Building Codes and other state and local regulations.
Staff Phone # E-mail
Gary Faulkner, Inspections Coordinator 321-6648  
top
Building
Staff Phone # E-mail
Kenneth Hairr, Chief Building Inspector 321-6653  
Doug Austin, Building Inspector III 321-6661  
Dennis Jernigan, Building Inspector II 321-6646  
top
Electrical/Mechanical
Staff Phone # E-mail
Larry Renfrow, Chief Electrical Inspector 321-6656  
Ronnie Matthews, Electrical III/Plumbing 321-6660  
Michael Naylor, Electrical/Mechanical I 321-6657  
Alan Johnson, Mechanical III/Plumbing 321-6638  
top
Plumbing
Staff Phone # E-mail
Carl Bunnell, Chief Plumbing Inspector 321-6642  
top
Manufactured Homes
Staff Phone # E-mail
Todd Mobley, Bldg./Elect./Mech./Plumb. 321-6639  
top
Plan Review
Staff Phone # E-mail
Barry Alston, Building/Plumbing II 321-6651  
top

Land Use Codes

  • Administers the County's Zoning and Subdivision Ordinances by processing applications for rezoning and subdivisions to assure compliance.

  • Provides technical planning support for the Board of Adjustments.
Staff Phone # E-mail
Patti Speicher, Planner III 678-7605 pspeicher@co.cumberland.nc.us
Ed Byrne, Planner II 678-7609 ebyrne@co.cumberland.nc.us
Mary Ann Steinmetz, Watershed Officer 678-7626 watershed@co.cumberland.nc.us
Bonny Collins, Planner I 678-7603 bcollins@co.cumberland.nc.us
top

Transportation Planning
Click Here

  • Provides professional transportation planning support to the Fayetteville Urbanized Area and Cumberland County in meeting Federal, State, and Local Requirements for continuous, cooperative, and comprehensive transportation planning.
Staff Phone # E-mail

Rick Heicksen, Planner III

678-7622

rheicksen@co.cumberland.nc.us

Maurizia Chapman, Planner II

678-7615

mchapman@co.cumberland.nc.us

Bobby McCormick, Planner I

678-7632

bmccormick@co.cumberland.nc.us

Joel Strickland, Planner I

678-7628

tstrickland@co.cumberland.nc.us

Janique Evans, Planner I

678-7614

jevans@co.cumberland.nc.us

Deloma West, Planning Assistant

678-7620

delomawest@co.cumberland.nc.us

Kristine Wagner, Trans. Coord.

678-7624

kwagner@co.cumberland.nc.us

top

Street Addressing
(E-911) and Naming

  • Administers County addressing database.

    Assigns names to new streets and converts existing rural route and box numbers to street addresses.

  • Erects and maintains all street name signs outside of the City of Fayetteville, Fort Bragg, and Pope AFB.
Staff Phone # E-mail
Mike Osbourn, E911 Planning Coord. 678-7608 mosbourn@co.cumberland.nc.us
Ron Gonzalez, Addressing Tech. 678-7616  
Will Phipps, Planner II 678-7666  
Diane Shelton, St/Naming Coord. 678-7665  
E911 Sign Shop
Dwayne Bigler, Supervisor 678-7722 signshop@co.cumberland.nc.us
Steven Adams 678-7722 signshop@co.cumberland.nc.us
top


[Home] [Commissioners' Office] [Manager's Office] [Financial] [Employment] [Departments] [County Statistics] [Public Information] [Agenda / Minutes] [Comment Form] [Organization Chart] [Links]