## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Aug. 23, 2017

Cumberland County Sheriff's Office

Contact: Wayne Cannon

Crisis Intervention Team Program Coordinator

Telephone: 910-672-5809 E-mail: wcannon@ccsonc.org

## **Crisis Intervention Team Inaugural Youth Academy Graduates**

FAYETTEVILLE – The Fayetteville-Cumberland County Crisis Intervention Team (CIT) inaugural Youth Academy graduated Aug. 22 in a ceremony at the Cumberland County Detention Center. The CIT Youth Academy is designed to train law enforcement and court personnel how to respond to a crisis related to mental illness for juveniles and young people. Eighteen Cumberland County Sheriff's deputies who work as School Resource Officers graduated after completing the 16-hour academy.

"Our School Resource Officers make a difference in the lives of children every day in Cumberland County," said Crisis Intervention Team Program Coordinator Wayne Cannon. "CIT Youth provides them with additional knowledge and skills to more effectively respond to children living with mental illness, intellectual disabilities or traumatic stress."

## The CIT graduates are:

Deputy Alberto Alcala

Deputy Joseph Dawson

Deputy Alma Estevez

**Deputy Emily Evans** 

Deputy Sara Falcon

Deputy Frederick Grehl

Deputy Leroy Hayes

Deputy Delwin Haywood

Deputy Eddie Johnson

Deputy Edward Kimbrell

Deputy James McGrady

Deputy Kevin Nichols

Deputy Jonathan Ray

Deputy Barbara Siau

Deputy Natalie Stevens

Deputy James Trogdon

Deputy Reid Tyndall

Deputy Shontoria Williams

CIT is a jail diversion program designed to provide a specialized law enforcement response to individuals experiencing a crisis related to mental illness. The program seeks to help citizens get treatment instead of being incarcerated. For more information, call CIT Program Coordinator Wayne Cannon at 910-672-5809.



The inaugural Fayetteville-Cumberland Crisis Intervention Youth Academy graduated Aug. 22. All the graduates are Cumberland County Sheriff's deputies assigned as School Resource Officers. The graduates are, in alphabetical order, Deputy Alberto Alcala, Deputy Joseph Dawson, Deputy Alma Estevez, Deputy Emily Evans, Deputy Sara Falcon, Deputy Frederick Grehl, Deputy Leroy Hayes, Deputy Delwin Haywood, Deputy Eddie Johnson, Deputy Edward Kimbrell, Deputy James McGrady, Deputy Kevin Nichols, Deputy Jonathan Ray, Deputy Barbara Siau, Deputy Natalie Stevens, Deputy James Trogdon, Deputy Reid Tyndall and Deputy Shontoria Williams.

###