Horizontal County Logo
Cumberland County Logo white - Horizontal

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Committee

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee October 2021

The Cumberland County Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Advisory Committee held its first meeting on Sept. 11, 2020. The committee’s purpose is to advise and guide County government to ensure integration of diversity, equity and inclusion with the County’s mission, operations, strategies and business objectives. 

Twenty-two employees have been selected to serve on the committee. Finance Director and General Manager of Financial Services Vicki Evans is serving as the meeting convener until the County hires a Chief Diversity Officer. Brian Haney, Assistant County Manager for General Government & Stewardship/Public Information Director and Interim Human Resources Director is involved as a Human Resources representative. Cheribeth Thomas, Public Information Office, is serving as the Administrative Support to the Advisory Committee.

The DEI Advisory Committee recommended a strategic plan focused on advancing diversity, equity and inclusion in the areas of policy, training, staff recruitment and retention, internal operations and community outreach/engagement that has been adopted by the Board of County Commissioners. The committee received an assignment from the Commissioners to review the County holiday schedule and make a recommendation in consideration of diversity, equity and inclusion. This resulted in the addition of a floating holiday to be used on a day selected by the employee that has special meaning to them. This day is in addition to the County's existing standard 12-holiday schedule, as adopted by the Board of Commissioners. The DEI Advisory Committee continues to work toward carrying out the remaining 19 goals and initiatives contained within the three-year strategic plan. The number one initiative of the strategic plan is for the County to employ a Chief Diversity Officer. Recruitment for the position is currently underway.

Pictured above: (Back row, left to right) Dr. April Kelly, Denise Schunk, Tim Middleton, Hardin Brown, Jr., Ivonne Mendez, Ricky Hair, Cheribeth Thomas, Vicki Evans, Brenda Jackson, Dr. Jennifer Green (Bottom row, left to right) Cynthia McKinley, Ann Thomas, Nora Armstrong, Alvin Chestnut, Mia Kaleiwahea-Perry, Tye Vaught, Kelly Moore, Al Florez, Telise Chavis


 Agendas   Meeting Notes
 Oct. 18, 2022 Oct. 18, 2022 
Sept. 20, 2022  Sept. 20, 2022 
August 16, 2022 August 16, 2022
July 19, 2022  July 19, 2022 
 June 21, 2022 June 21, 2022 
 May 17, 2022 May 17, 2022 
April 19, 2022 April 19, 2022
March 15, 2022  March 15, 2022
 February 15, 2022 February 15, 2022 


 Agendas   Meeting Notes
 November 16, 2021 November 16, 2021 
 October 19, 2021 October 19, 2021 
 September 21, 2021 September 21, 2021 
August 17, 2021 August 17, 2021 
 July 20, 2021 July 20, 2021 
 May 18, 2021  May 18, 2021
 April 20, 2021 April 20, 2021 
 March 16, 2021 March 16, 2021
February 16, 2021 February 16, 2021
January 19, 2021  January 19, 2021


 Agendas  Meeting Notes
December 15, 2020 December 15, 2020 
November 17, 2020 November 17, 2020 
October 20, 2020  October 20, 2020 
September 25, 2020  September 25, 2020
September 18, 2020 September 18, 2020
September 11, 2020 September 11, 2020


Committee Members
Nora Armstrong Public Library
 Alissa Brashear Department of Social Services
 Hardin Brown  Sheriff’s Office
 Telise Chavis  Emergency Services
 Alvin Chestnut  Pretrial Services
 Garry Crumpler  Emergency Services
 Vincent Evans Tax Administration 
 Al Florez  Innovation & Technology Services
 Jennifer Green  Public Health
 Ricky Hair  Facilities Maintenance 
 Mia Kaleiwahea-Perry Innovation & Technology Services
 Yaminah Vereen Public Library
 Cynthia McKinley  Child Support
 Megan McLaurin  Animal Services
 Ivonne Mendez County Finance 
 Tim Middleton  Solid Waste
 Kelly Moore  Tax Administration
 Sara Reyes  Public Health 
 Denise Schunk Department of Social Services  
Terry Streets  Planning 
 Ann Thomas  Public Health
 Tye Vaught County Administration


  • Contact Us

    Phone: 910-678-7750
    Mailing Address:

    PO Box 1829
    Fayetteville, NC 28302-1829

    Chief Diversity Officer: Nikeisha Waring
    CCDEIAC Convener: Vicki Evans

    Contact Us

    Phone: 910-678-7750
    CCDEIAC Convener: Vicki Evans
    Mailing Address:

    PO Box 1829
    Fayetteville, NC 28302-1829